Hidden Gem #92: Noya Rao – Icaros


Late last year Leeds-based quartet Noya Rao dropped their debut album, Icaros, on Matthew Halsall’s Gondwana Records. Icaros takes the listener on a journey through the band’s unique sound-world amplified by Tom Henry’s bold and inventive production techniques. Drawing on many genres, it’s difficult to pigeonhole the sound into a single classification. Sometimes fragile, sometimes raw and visceral it’s an album of stark contrasts. We’ve got this one on heavy rotation, hopefully, you will too!


1. Azimuth
2. Moments
3. Golden Claw
4. Midas
5. Dreaming (part 1)
6. I Feel
7. Same Sun Will Rise
8. Fly
9. This Time
10. Dreaming (part 2)


Nayo Rao:

Vocals/Lyrics / Olivia Bhattacharjee
Keyboard/Production / Tom Henry
Bass / Jim Wiltshire
Drums / Matt Davies


Released November 24th, 2017


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.